An Unfrequented Lantern.

912

Doomed slackly to a benumbed branch so barren,

Dangling in faith, I, the only unfrequented lantern.

No more bright tinges for eyes, but pallor for hue;

Burning up in winter, a colossal penance I pursue.

The knavish snow slants on my hoary shoulders,

Cloaking my spark with its lily-white gelid borders.

Withal I go- thawing soft, this frost-bound night…

Lighting the roll down of darkness, bilking my sight.

Jugging the hot ambers in me, whipping my core,

Maneuvering I am, for you to attain your shore.


Image courtesy: Google.

24 comments on “An Unfrequented Lantern.

  1. TheBraceletWriter says:

    Reblogged this on The Bracelet Writer's Poems and commented:
    I love this! C:

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Vlad Zaycev says:

    Wow! Very beautiful blog! I like it!))

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have nominated your for The Versatile Blogger Award! Enjoy your every day!
    https://sendsunshine.wordpress.com/2015/01/22/the-versatile-blogger-award/

    Like

  4. kirsten says:

    As always your eloquence is sublime, Reva! I love to sit in silence before your words letting them mull about in my head. My vocabulary definitely gets a much needed workout each time I read one of your poems. This is tinged with sadness and hope at the same time. The “dangling in faith” phrase is one of my favorites of yours. Blessings.

    Btw my poetry and stuff has moved over to my personal blog. My old blog is just going to be mobile apps and scrapbooking. If you would be interested in my personal blog I can give you a link. (I don’t like to just add links in people’s comment boxes :-))

    Liked by 1 person

    • beingeternal says:

      I am really grateful for all the love you bestow on me ever. Many thanks for all the patience and heart warming words. As you know, I was completely out of sight for two months because of my self being out of my mind…so havent been that regular.
      But sooner I have found some changes in your blog thing…and I wasnt sure. Your mentioning makes it very clear to me, now. I would definitely like to have the link. I cannot lose such an amazing person like you who has always encouraged and rekindled my dying spirit. Love you kirsten…just cannot express myself fully. Just give me the link….i would be more than happy.
      Stay wonderful and be here for me….i need little love that you always give me so unconditionally.

      Ever grateful to you….is this little me. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • kirsten says:

        I knew when you werent here that something was going on. You were thought about often by all of us who read your blog!! Im glad that you are back and you know i will keep coming back for visits :-). My blog change was confusing for a number of people, sorry about that. I finally did a post that explained that i was switching to one that would keep my family and friends up to date with my life. Here is the link: http://kirstenaufhammer.com
        Please know that you are loved sweet Reva!!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. A true wordsmith! Thanks for visiting; I’ve been on a bit of a sabbatical writing “a borrowing of bones” but back to blogging with a lot of wonderful sites to catch up on. Hope you enjoy a walk through my village, I’ll be posting the poems through the first week of February.

    Liked by 1 person

    • beingeternal says:

      Thank you very much John for your wonderful presence. Good to know about the wonderful thing you are working on. It would be an honor to be part of such an amazing village. I will visit and revisit.
      Looking forward eagerly….
      Stay Blessed!
      Reva.

      Like

  6. fotografaire says:

    What a lovely and illuminating poem, and image to go with.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. wow this is so beautiful!! ❤ ❤ ❤ the imagery used is perfectt
    I can feel myself in your poem!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I have studied your poem for a few minutes. I confess that I look at your poetry with awe and not always understanding. I am not sure if the poem is describing the picture or something-else. And why is the lantern “unfrequented”. The more I study it, the more i think I am at the edge of understanding it. I will tell you what it makes me think of; a cold dark snowy night and someone frozen to the core is swinging his lantern as a guiding light to a ship on stormy seas to lead it homeward to its peaceful harbour. Your use of imagery is beautiful; especially i like: “benumbed branch so barren”; “dangling in faith”; colossal penance I pursue”; “Knavish snow slants on my hoary shoulders”; “Jugging the hot ambers in me” and “whipping my core”. the impression i get is that it is a lonely mission and that the lantern has to work hard on the coldest of nights and yet does it for the sake of the person who needs to be safely guided home.The person could be God in Jesus. Please let me know if my interpretation is anywhere near your meaning. Best wishes, Julia

    Liked by 1 person

    • beingeternal says:

      Dear Julia….thank you for the detailed comment. I appreciate your patience and curiosity, understanding my not so easily understandable poem.
      The lantern is “unfrequented” as the scene being harsh winter there is not much of people visiting and hence the lantern feels lonesome and unvisited.
      Your understanding is more or less close to the meaning I tried to convey.
      Though it is the toughest job being in the frost, the lantern still does its duty….guiding people.
      Here the word “shore ” is employed in general… substituting for destiny and not specifically intending ‘sea shore’.

      The rest …you have beautifully put.

      Thank you once again. Stay Smiling!
      Reva. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. this is one lantern i’d like to frequent, i says. i’ll call it “the shining brightly” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

